Home > How-To > How to Completely Format iPhone

How to Completely Format iPhone

There may be several reasons why you should format your iPhone. For example, if you were to give your iPhone to a friend or relative wouldn't it be awkward for them to read all of your saucy messages and pictures? What's more, if you sold it off to a buyer online and shipped it to them?

To ensure that your privacy is protected-usually, you might decide to delete all of the important, personal things such as contacts, photos, messages, notes and more. Perhaps this is enough, however, unfortunately, it is not. If you use a software program, like PanFone iOS Data Recovery or any other tool, you can find things leftover. So Completely formatting your iPhone would be the first choice.

Here, we will show you 3 ways to format your iPhone Xs Max /Xs/X/8/7/6/5/4.

Way 1. Format Your iPhone with iTunes

If you have iTunes which you used to sync iPhone available, you can use iTunes to thoroughly format your iPhone. Here are the simple steps.

format iPhone via iTunes

Step 1 : Connect iPhone to computer via a USB cable and run iTunes.

If a pop-up occurs on your device screen asks for your device passcode or to Trust This Computer, follow the onscreen steps.

Step 2 : Select your device from iTunes, then choose Summary. On the right-side panel, click Restore iPhone.

Step 3 : Click Restore again to confirm your action.

Your device is now being restored to factory settings and would restart at the end of the process.

Tip: we recommend you to make a backup before formatting iPhone in case of something goes wrong.


Way 2. Format Your iPhone from iPhone Setting App

Alternatively, you can clean all the iPhone data and format iPhone via iPhone Settings APP. This is the quickest and easy way of restoring your iDevice to its original factory settings. But, the data can be recoverable.

Simple Steps to format your iPhone from iPhone Setting App:

  • Click Settings app from the Home screen of your iPhone.
  • Scroll down to tap on General.
  • Find the Reset tab, click on it.
  • Select Erase All Content and Settings.
  • tap settings

  • Tap on Erase iPhone.
  • Tap on Erase iPhone again to confirm.
  • erase iPhone

  • Enter your Passcode.
  • Enter your Apple ID password to turn off Activate Lock and remove the device from Find my iPhone.
  • enter password

The process can take from a few minutes to several hours. Please be patient.


Way 3. Format Your iPhone with PanFone iOS Eraser Free

PanFone iOS Eraser may be the best solution you are looking for. This software is one of the best iPhone data erasing software that enables you to permanently erase the files that you want to deleted. It comes with four data erasing mode: Erase All Data, Erase Deleted Files, Erase Private Data and Erase Private Fragment.

PanFone iOS Data Eraser

PanFone iOS Data Eraser supports to erase messages, contacts, call history, photos & video, browsing data and more with 0% recovery and 100% wipes 3rd-party apps. With PanFone you can protect your private data by:

  • Permanently Erasing All of Your Private Data
  • Permanently Erasing even All of Your Deleted Files
  • Erasing All Data at One Time
  • Erasing Private Fragments from 3rd-party Apps

 Download
Win Version

iOS Data Eraser

How to use PanFone iOS Eraser to format your iPhone completely:

Thanks to its Erase All Data function, you can one-click to format your iPhone. Let's check how it works:

Step 1 : Download PanFone and install it on your PC.

Step 2 : Run this iOS Data Eraser and get your iPhone connected to computer.

Note: you need to turn off Find My iPhone first if you want to permanently wipe your iPhone data.

main interface

Step 3 : Select Erase All Data mode on the main interface and tap Erase button.

Eraser iPhone data

Step 4 : There are 3 security level to select. Choose one you prefer and click OK. The default recommended level is Medium.

select security level

Step 5 : In the pop-up window, you need to manually type delete in the required box to confirm your action, and then click Erase Now.

iOS Data Eraser

During the process, please keep your iPhone connected all the time and don't click the "Stop" button. Once the formatting process is complete, everything on your iPhone will be permanently deleted.

Note: please note this action will PERMANENTLY erase all data and CANNOT be undone. Please make sure you've backed up the data in case of any data lost.


There you have it, all of your personal data and important documents are securely and permanently deleted from your iPhone, and you are now prepared to have your iPhone ready for sale or whichever option you prefer.

  Download
Win Version


Related Articles: